Military Medal

Medal Entry 1, The Military Medal

Instituted: 25 March 1916


Broad dark blue edges flanking a central section of three narrow white and two narrow crimson stripes.

Metal: Silver

Size: 36 mm


The sovereign’s effigy (obverse) – six types. The crowned royal cypher (reverse) above the inscription FOR BRAVERY IN THE FIELD, enclosed in a wreath.


Awarded to NCOs and men of the Army (including RFC and RND) for individual or associated acts of bravery not of sufficient heroism as to merit the DCM. In June 1916 it was extended to women , two of the earliest awards being to civilian ladies for their conduct during the Easter Rising in Dublin that year. Some 115,600 medals were awarded during the First World War alone, together with 5796 first bars , 180 second bars and 1 third bar. Over 15,000 medals were conferred during the Second World War, with 177 first bars and 1 second bar. About 300 medals and 4 first bars were awarded in minor campaigns between the two world wars, while 932 medals and 8 first bars have been conferred since 19047. As a result of the 1993 Review of gallantry wards and resultant changes to the operational gallantry award system, this award has been replaced by the Military Cross which is now available to both officers and other ranks.


Main Page | Return to medal Page | Contact Page